But Enough About Me…

15 10 2010

I was tagged by an Ethiopian travel mate, Shonda, (http://godwilladd.blogspot.com/) to play this game.  (And although she noted we are very different, I tend to notice our similarities – like we both think HER children are beautiful, we have both enjoyed the love of a great blue heeler, we both love diet coke – maybe we are actually twins separated at birth.)

Like any 8th grade girl, I was happy just to be included in this chain-mail game.  (Yes, Mother, I probably will jump off a bridge if everyone else is doing it.)  And considering I only have one adult friend in my town, any chance I get to just chatter away about myself makes me happy.  So here comes the chatter.

1. What is your biggest pet peeve?
People who wear pajamas in public (except mental patients – hey, if you just escaped I will cut you some slack.)  Also, flip-flops in the winter and Uggs in the summer, yes, pajama-wearing, ugly-shoed, college girls, I am talking to YOU.  There is a reason it is called the “walk of shame” and you should NOT try and dress like you were on a walk of shame and just decided to make a quick stop at Starbucks.  Really, you need coffee that bad? try a drive-through.  (Whew, serious anger behind this issue.)

2. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
If you read my blog at all you know I already own a house in Oregon and would really like to be LIVING IN IT.  But, I love the water, mountains and big cities, so in a perfect world I would move back to Vancouver, British Columbia.  But this time I would be rich enough to enjoy it.  Of course I would live half the year in Africa (Yes, I know it is a continent and that answer lacks specificity and also seems a little naïve.)  But I truly don’t know enough to be more specific.  Think beautiful people, beautiful land, big-fancy-unique-fauna, and superior internet access, then feel free to email me any locations that you think might work.

3. Have you ever been searched by the cops?
In high school my best friend and boyfriend were arrested while together but I had stayed home that night for some reason.  This is the closest I have ever come to that kind of fun.  And as an undergrad my nickname was “Mom” so you can guess that I usually was the responsible one in any social group.

4. What is the one thing on your mind right now?
If my son will be lucky enough to be able to answer question 3 more-or-less the same way I did.  Of all the bigotry in this country, I really fear both law enforcement and the judicial system the most.

5. Favorite song right now?
59th Street Bridge Song (Feeling Groovy) by Simon and Garfunkle because PJ has learned the words, requests it as her bed time song and sings it louder and more out of tune than I do.

6. What talent do you wish you had?
Recruiting and motivating a not-for-profit board of directors.  Seriously, I can build and motivate a great staff but I haven’t learned the same trick with a board.  A few years ago I relocated 2,300 miles away from my husband to try and learn this skill.  Unfortunately, I missed my husband and learned jacksh*t about board development.

Oh and I want to have a really strong, really consistent hammer http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K9L7K0nGI0c

Since my first two answers might actually be considered skills more than talents, I will add a third.  I wish I could sing, even a little bit.  I don’t have to be great, just good enough that my kids will actually recognize the songs I sing to them when they come on the radio.

7. Favorite drink?
5 am  – 2 pm – Diet Coke from a “fountain” (I can suffer through a 20 oz plastic bottle – don’t even think of handing me a can.)

2:01 pm – 7 pm – Water, purified and cold

7:01 pm – 11:55 pm – Beer, or maybe a really nice glass of red wine, or champagne, oh, and expensive, sipping Añejo tequila

When it comes to beverages I am high maintenance.

8. In one word, how would you describe yourself?
Incomprehensible

This is a chain email and is moving through the blog circle that I follow fairly quickly.  But I can think of three women I would love to read more fluff about:

Jamie (http://www.fitzpatrickland.com/) because I miss her everyday and because I am hoping if she ever goes back to blogging I will be able to hear about the rest of our trip to Ethiopia.

Megan (http://babyboltes.blogspot.com/) because I admire her on so many levels and am shocked she hasn’t been asked to participate yet (although maybe she has but was too busy with her own great news)

Melanie (http://loveisaquatic.blogspot.com/) because she is a unique voice in adoption circles and I love to hear her perspectives (although she only been home with her new babe a few weeks so I will cut her slack if she chooses not to play)

Actions

Information

9 responses

15 10 2010
fricknfracks

I just yelled shut the “f” up at work, only I didn’t say “f”.

This is getting freakier and freakier. #5 – Yeah, one of my absolute favorite songs. It might even make my top 20. And now, it is one of my boys’ favs, too. There is not a ride in the car that goes by without us all singing, Doot-in’ doo-doo, Feelin’ groovy. Seriously, it’s not like that’s a common song right now. Hello, similarities.

Nice getting to know more about you.

15 10 2010
Semi-Feral Mama

I would have tagged you but I figured you were too busy in October!

15 10 2010
claudia

c’mon… now I want to know why SO much anger behind #1!

15 10 2010
Tonggu Momma

Ouch.

Because I have been known to wear pajamas in public. *blush*

15 10 2010
Semi-Feral Mama

Quick, a clarification before I lose all my new virtual friends…
Wikipedia’s Definition of Pet Peeve is “A pet peeve (or pet hate) is a minor annoyance that an individual identifies as particularly annoying to him or her, to a greater degree than others may find it.”
I know my feelings about P.I.P (Pajamas in Public) are a bit over the top. I think I hold on to them so tightly because I have given up wearing make-up or even showering all that often. But I hold on to the fact that, “I DON”T WEAR PAJAMAS IN PUBLIC” (except at the drive-through) because it makes me feel like I haven’t given up completely.

15 10 2010
Melanie

I don’t mind being tagged at all! I actually kind of like these things because I love to talk about myself. Such an egomaniac!

I am with you on #1 but I find myself wondering how I can narrow it down to just one.

15 10 2010
Melanie

P.S. We were in the same room in Ethiopia! I looked on your friend Jamie’s site. 3 flights up kicked my ass every single time.

15 10 2010
Megan

Aw shucks! Thanks for tagging me sweet friend. I will get to it soon hopefully!
Can I be your roomie in BC and Africa?

17 10 2010
Courtney

I, too, love Diet Coke in the fountain form. I hate cans, must have ice, love the straw. So.

Leave a Reply

