They Paved Paradise

18 11 2010

In the words of Joni Mitchell… “Don’t it always seem to go that you don’t know what you’ve got ‘till it’s gone…”

Below are the four most unexpected things I miss since moving.

1)      My chiropractor.  I have had a series of injuries and have unique ligaments which, wait, you’re not 96-years-old and confined to a nursing home?  Oh, then I will spare you the details.  Let’s just say, a good chiropractor makes a world of difference in my life.  And I am a high-maintenance patient.  A chiropractor must never, never, never crack my neck.  And I am not going to be totally forthcoming.  And at any random visit he/she might need to work on my ankle, or shoulder, or back, or…  you get the picture.  And oh how I miss Dr. David Lawrence.

2)      Excellent Health Insurance.   I didn’t even know our health insurance was that good, until I didn’t have it anymore.  Let’s do some comparing and contrasting, shall we?  In Oregon my husband worked for a major university.  In our new town my husband works for a major university.  In Oregon the university paid for the insurance 100%.  Here it is going to cost us upwards of five grand.  In Oregon we had no co-pay.  Here it is a minimum of $15 and when PJ had to go to the Urgent Care center it was $50.  The university we were associated with in Oregon did not have a medical school.  Here there is a medical school and three hospitals right on campus.  We went to the special eye doctor at the university hospital, ON CAMPUS.  We bought PJ’s glasses from the store at the university hospital, ON CAMPUS.  The doctor and the store were both “out of network”… in other words, they didn’t honor the university insurance.  You figure it out, because I can’t.

3)      Costco… with it’s Morning Star sausage, excellent diaper wipes, organic fruits and vegetables.  Here we have Sam’s Club.  I would compare and contrast but what is the point when there is no comparison?

4)      My Bathtub.  Our last house (or should I say our current house in another state since it hasn’t sold) was a fixer when we bought it.  When I was eight-and-a-half months pregnant we gutted the bathroom.  And I insisted my husband install a jet tub.  Nothing fancy, in fact the cheapest, smallest jet tub you can buy.  I used it pretty much daily after PJ was born.  I traded in showers for baths and was still using it daily two years later when we moved.  But, a conventional size tub is a conventional size tub, right?  WRONG.  I miss my bathtub.

I know in Ethiopia no one is complaining about a crummy bathtub, a sub-par warehouse store or lousy health insurance.  Please forgive my self-indulgence.  It’s just I have a kink in my back and I could use a nice, long soak in the tub.

He loves his "saws-all"

Remember, you could buy this bath. It comes with a house, near a Costco and a great chiropractor.

Taking the inaugural bath.

Even before we had kids we never really had private time.

PS  I just checked out my “dashboard” this is officially my 43rd post (not counting photo-only posts).  That means I can check #12 off my goal list.

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 11 2010
Lori

Um, this is really funny. By the way, we have a ‘tuxedo cat’ too. I heard that they are the smartest cats (breeds) out there. Love them.

18 11 2010
Shonda

Love it. You are too funny. You should write stuff everyday, and I would read it. All I can say is, glad that cat was in the picture. Could have been terribly akward for all of us otherwise.

And, thanks, now that song is stuck in my head… never to leave!

18 11 2010
Charlotte

I am thinking you might have moved to the same neighborhood that we recently moved to. We also lost our beloved Costco AND Trader Joe’s and awesome pediatrican. Unfortunately our crappy health insurance moved with us. And yay for positing photo of naked husband. I think more mom blogs should have photos of their naked husbands. I hereby forgive you for not cursing on your blog.

29 11 2010
roadtosam

Ummmm, errrr, does the hot husband come w/ the bath, house, Costco and Chiro? Or does he stay with you in the land of crap-tastic health insurance? Oh, I figured as much.
Get it on Costco. I’m originally from Indiana (insert joke here) where Sam’s Club is king. They have NO idea. NONE at all. When we talk about moving (after the housing market chances and we are no longer $100K upside down in our seemingly modest mortgage) “near a Costco” is at the top of the list of requirements.

Leave a Reply

