Inspire Me

26 01 2011

My husband, SAG, and I have been together for years, Y.E.A.R.S. years;  two and a half years in college and two years post college in different states,  followed by seven years of living together on and off, followed by twelve and a half years of marriage.  That is a lot of years.

At some point (and I wish I could say it was a really, really long time ago, but it probably was only a long time ago) when our relationship was in a rough patch, I remember telling him, “I need a partner who inspires me.”  I am so sorry, and really, so lucky that he didn’t give up on me at that point.

Fast forward to last week.  After a six day vacation, we traveled by plane from Oregon to Kansas City, only to be stuck in a snow storm upon arrival.  When we had been driving for as long as we had flown and were for all intents and purposes still within the KC city limits, we got a hotel room and called it a night.

Between the time change, the day of travel, the skipped nap, and the unfamiliar surroundings, Little Dude was NOT GOING TO GO TO SLEEP.  My husband put him in the Ergo and rocked and walked and swayed, and rocked and walked and swayed, and rocked and walked and swayed, while PJ and I drifted off to sleep on the other side of the room.

The next morning he dug the van out of the snow while I got our stuff together.  Then he drove on the nasty roads the rest of the way home.  When we came in the house he immediately started unpacking the suitcases.

Unpacking the suitcases – that is a job that I often take a couple of weeks days to complete.  I have a wonderful ability to walk over and around a half unpacked suitcase for a very long period of time during which I will say things like, “I wonder where my black pants are?,” never once thinking to look in the suitcase.

So, there he was, exhausted and probably ready for a little time away from the kids and I.  And, he starts unpacking the suitcases…  So, I started unpacking the suitcases (and doing the laundry because, as he will tell you, it is always a contest with me.)

If you are still in your twenties, or have one or less kids, you may be thinking you need a partner who inspires you.  And you do… but probably not in the way that you are thinking.

I will be filing this under “I’m a Lucky Girl” because I really, really am.

Actions

Information

8 responses

26 01 2011
Erin

Beautiful. And inspiring. Thank you and “Yay, SAG!”

26 01 2011
Christine

These are my favorite kinds of posts. I love a love story.

26 01 2011
leigh

Congratulations for working through it. Those are the best kinds of stories.
Love it.

26 01 2011
Tesi

That is TRULY inspirational. 🙂 That’s what I tell my single sister. You don’t want someone going on and on about how great they do this and that. See if he does the dishes, helps you with the crap people don’t ever want to do. When their willing to do the stuff often overlooked, then they are right for you. LOVE It!

26 01 2011
Julie

Lucky and hilarious as well. Loved the comment. 🙂

26 01 2011
roadtosam

how freakin adorable do you look in your wedding dress? Seriously.
I am barred from complaining about Gregg due to the fact that all my friends and family think he walks on water with all we’ve been through. I am such a lucky duck its incredible. He stays at home w/ Sam so I can work, does the laundry, cooking, cleaning, home repairs…and doesn’t complain (except for when I’m a world class B*tch, and then he has every right to do so.)

30 01 2011
Sarah

Ah! I got so excited about reading your blog…and then I forgot to, “follow” it. Got that fixed. Now I just need to tell you that I think you are funny!! “I wonder where my black pants are?” I really like your sense of humor. And, this post made me smile. In a more profound than funny way~

3 02 2011
underneaththestretchmarks

yeah…totally.

Leave a Reply

