Ethiopia On Her Mind

21 03 2011

PJ likes to walk around starting imaginary conversations.  Most of them begin with, “Hi, I’m PJ.  What’s your name?”  Usually she will then give the inanimate object she is talking to a name that identifies it, but might also be somewhat silly.  This is the way she cracks herself up.

This past weekend she kept shaking my hand and saying, “Hi, what’s your name?”  I would answer, “Mrs. Piggly Wiggly,” or  “Mama-Too-Tired-To-Play,” or “Mrs. HappyMcSchmappy,” followed by “What’s yours?”

Her consistent response was, “Prox”  dragging out the R sound (possibly an attempt at rolling it, although I doubt she has ever heard a rolled R in our white-bread home.)

About the third time we went through this ritual I said, “Prox, that’s a pretty name.”  And she replied, “Yes, that is my Ethiopian name.”

Then yesterday when we were playing outside I could hear a train in the distance.

Me, “PJ, Can you hear the train?”

PJ, “Yes, where did it go?”

Me, “I think it is pretty far away, like maybe down by the river.”

PJ, “I think it is in Ethiopia”

Me, “I don’t think it is THAT far away.”

PJ, “Yes, Ethiopia, where you went to get my brother.”

For whatever reason she really has Ethiopia on her mind.  Maybe it is because she and her Dad and brother watch this video every night, usually about five times in a row.

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 03 2011
tamara b

introducing herself to random people… sounds like her momma 🙂

23 03 2011
Sarah

AH. I love this music video.

23 03 2011
Shonda

Hilarious! My kids talk a lot about Ethiopia too, especially Timothy. He’s still not convinced he wasn’t born in “Epiopia.”

23 03 2011
Scooping it Up

awesome! my kids will totally dig this. Gonna copy the graphic on your water post and share on FB, k?

Leave a Reply

