Freeze Frame

10 04 2011

Last Tuesday my kids flew a kite for the first time.  It was fun.  I took some great pictures.  I planned to post about it, immediately.  As soon as we got home I started uploading my pictures, as SAG fed the kids dinner.  And, hey, what do you know – I caught something really interesting in one of the photos.

Look closely…

No, not my husband’s cute behind – but, hey, not bad for 43-yrs-old.

No, not his excellent sprinting form – but, hey, not bad for 43-yrs-old.

Down at the bottom of the picture… yep, that is my Swiss Army Knife (a crucial tool when you buy your kites at the Dollar Store) free falling out of his pocket as he sprints after the kite that Little Dude has once again released.

I went back and looked for it about 20 minutes after seeing this photo – which was only about 30 minutes after leaving the park.  No luck.  Of course the guy doing a grid search with a metal detector when we were flying the kite was long gone when I got back.  After finding such an awesome prize he probably figured it was time to call it a day.

I have NOT been stressing about the knife at all.  Probably because I knew exactly when and where I lost it – so it wasn’t like, “hmmm, where could it be? where could it be?”  Also, the nasty computer virus showed up the next day, so there was a chance that I would be losing much more than my knife.  And, probably, most of all, because it was my son’s birthday.  Loss, like everything else in life, is completely relative.

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 04 2011
claudia

way to punch in the gut with that last sentence, SFM.

11 04 2011
Wendy

OK, I cracked up at this photo, because this? This is SO my husband. First of all, things are always flying out of his pockets b/c he’s got more crap in there than the average 6 year old (no frogs have emerged yet), and secondly, because my husband claims that one must have on himself at all times some sort of knife. This is how we are going to forage our way in the forest should we happen to ever get lost and build a shelter if we’re ever stranded on a island. He assures me I’ll thank him some day.

11 04 2011
Semi-Feral Mama

Wendy, I don’t know about foraging, but you never know when you will need to open a bottle of wine or a beer – IMMEDIATELY. I have always kept my swiss army knife in my diaper bag. Now at least SAG will know what to get me for Easter.

Leave a Reply

