Goal List: Books

6 07 2011

Yesterday was my birthday.  I spent the vast majority of my waking hours in the minivan with five children, one dog, and my husband.  Somehow it was a pretty good day.

I suppose I will have to re-post my goal list and look at how many I achieved since technically yesterday was the deadline.

My favorite goal turned out to be “Read 43 Books.”  I didn’t quite get to 43, but I read lots of great books.  I learned lots.  I was entertained.  I was moved.  I laughed.

I would love to talk about these books with you. (Some of the conversations might be short “um, don’t really remember much about it” but others would be interesting, fascinating, I could learn from you, we could learn from the author.

  1. Comfort Food by Kate Jacobs (light fiction)
  2. Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress by Susan Jane Gilman (humor)
  3. I Love Everybody by Laurie Notaro (humor)
  4. I See You Everywhere by Julia Glass (fiction)
  5. Baby, We Were Meant For Each Other by Scott Simon (adoption)
  6. Held at a Distance by Rebecca Haile (memoire Ethiopia)
  7. Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert (memoire follow-up to Eat, Pray, Love)
  8. Talk Before Sleep by Elizabeth Berg (fiction/literature one of my favorite authors)
  9. The Nanny Diaries by McLaughlin and Kraus (light fiction – entertaining)
  10. I’ll Mature When I’m Dead by Dave Barry (humor)
  11. Happiest Toddler on the Block byKatz (90%) (parenting)
  12. An Hour Before Daylight by Jimmy Carter (autobiography – race)
  13. 1-2-3 Magic by Dr. Thomas Phelan (parenting)
  14. Sh*t My Father Says by Justin Halpern (humor – so, so, so funny)
  15. This Is a Soul The Mission of Rick Hodes by Marilyn Berger (biography, Ethiopia, AMAZING)
  16. Open an autobiography by Andre Agassi (autobiography interesting to read along with Tiger Mother and The Opposite of Fate)
  17. Say You’re One of Them by Wem Akpan (short stories based in Africa – very, very intense)
  18. I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron (middle-aged humor)
  19. Coffee Will Make You Black by April Sinclair (fiction, race)
  20. Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin (memoir, possibly not accurate, interesting)
  21. How to Raise Your Spirited Child by Mary Sheedy Kurchinka (parenting)
  22. Early Bird, a memoir of premature retirement by Rodney Rothman (humor)
  23. A Long Walk To Water (Salva Dut) by Linda Sue Park (Juvenile, Lost Boys of the Sudan)
  24. Maggie’s American Dream by James P. Comer, M.D. (autobiography, race)
  25. Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua (memoir, parenting, race, humor)
  26. Mamalita – an adoption memoir by Jessica O’Dwyer (adoption)
  27. What Now  Blog (adoption of teen from foster care)
  28. Are You My Guru? by Wendy Shanker (memoir from person I grew up near)
  29. Message From An Unknown Chinese Mother by Xinran (adoption, chinese culture)
  30. The Opposite of Fate by Amy Tan (memoir, AMAZING, race, culture, fiction, spirituality)
  31. Why My Third Husband Will Be A Dog by Lisa Scottoline (middle-age humor, surprisingly good)
  32. Exodus From Hunger by David Beckmann (social issues from Christian perspective, basically a really long brochure for his not-for-profits – learned a lot)
  33. The Help by Kathryn Stockett (fiction, race)
  34. The Chimps of Fauna Sanctuary by Andrew Westoll (animal welfare)
  35. No Biking in the House Without a Helmet by Melissa Faye Greene (memoir, adoption, Ethiopia, humor)
  36. Walk To Beautiful – Documentary about Fistula Hospital in Ethiopia
  37. God Grew Tired of Us – Documentary about the Lost Boys of the Sudan

Happy Reading.

Actions

Information

13 responses

6 07 2011
Erin

Happy Birthday!

Still don’t know how moms get any reading done. I finally finished Moby Dick… did ya know he mentions breastfeeding in there? Insightful comment too.

7 07 2011
Captain Murdock

Funny you should post this … Last night I put this on my FB status: “I need a light feel-good book to read, one that will help put me in a good mood. I’m not into vampires or romance and I need a break from orphan/adoption books … any suggestions?”

I just bought Three Cups of Tea, but I’m thinking it might not fit the bill at this moment.

Really, I should have just asked you. What would you recommend? Comfort Food?

7 07 2011
Semi-Feral Mama

You and two other FB friends had posted something similar in the last couple of days which is why I hurried to put this post up.
If you really want to relax and laugh, “Sh*t My Father Says” is possibly the funniest thing I have ever read. The language is rough, but it is never mean spirited and is SO funny. You might have to pray after if you feel guilty for laughing, but it is worth it.
I also enjoyed the new M.F. Greene. Yes, it is adoption. Yes, there is some hard stuff about care centers, etc… but it is not anything a veteran adopter like you doesn’t know. In general the book is more about adding kids to your family and what a joy each individual child is. It is a long book and I read it in 48 hours so that tells you it is engaging and not too tough.
This is a Soul is one of the most amazing books I have ever read. It is hard-core Ethiopia, obviously. But I found it more inspirational than depressing.
If you haven’t read the Nanny Diaries, it is entertaining. Although I guess I think it is a bit depressing even though it is fiction.
Have you read Sue Grafton’s mystery series? I don’t read many mysteries, but if you want to get lost in a book, root for the main character and forget about the whole thing 30 minutes after you finish, you can’t beat a Sue Grafton.

7 07 2011
Captain Murdock

I just finished the MF Green book a few weeks ago, and yes it was very funny, engaging and not too tough. I read it on my hubby’s new Kindle, and so I wasn’t really sure how long it was but it did seem to take forever (though like you, I finished it in a couple of days). Glad to know it wasn’t my below-average reading level 😉

I want to read This is a Soul … just not right now. My head is already in Ethiopia enough these days for everyone’s sanity

Thanks for the recommendations.

7 07 2011
Sara

Happy belated birthday! I love books, so I think I’ll check out the ones with the “amazing” label first. Thanks for sharing.

7 07 2011
Tesi

Happy belated birthday!!! Love the list! I’m going to keep it as a reference for when I need some ideas. 🙂 Hope you had an awesome day!

7 07 2011
Semi-Feral Mama

We spent time this weekend in NE Iowa talking about you! Can you really be as happy as you sound on your blog? (my question as I always want to be more like you after I read your blog)- a resounding yes from the people in our group that have actually met you!

29 07 2011
rebekah

yes:)

8 07 2011
lover of Et

K, can I just say that I love you? And miss you. I can’t believe how many books you read. I’m proud to get through 4 in few months and half of those are done on my ipod. Just one question for you, why are you reading so many middle age books. You’re so not middle aged. Yet. I was just asking about a new book recently too. Just finished “heaven is for real” in one sitting. Need something else now. Maybe I’ll have Ryan order me something off your list.

9 07 2011
Semi-Feral Mama

Don’t orde Exodus from Hunger because I am sending it to you as a hostess gift!

10 07 2011
leigh

Hey, happy birthday you. so what does that make you, a cancer? Just like my DH. No wonder I like you. But not like that, don’t get any ideas…..

So here are my thoughts on your list:

#5 I bought but haven’t read.
#9 I read a million years ago because it’s so NYC. Very funny but sad sort of.
I won’t read #s 11 or 13 because I don’t generally read parenting book. I don’t like being told what to do. It’s the anti-conformist in me. Frankly, I surprised you would read those kinds of books. ahem.
#23 I loved. I thought Amy Chua was psycho, but very, very funny.
#29 Be prepared to be moved beyond belief. Difficult book. Really.
#30 I read a couple of Amy Tan books a long time ago but this one I haven’t read. You’ve inspired me. I’ll have to get it.
#35 was FAB-U-LOUS. Loved it.

Thanks for the list! Keep it coming. Happy b’day you.

11 07 2011
tamara b

I think this one is next on my list to purchase: This Is a Soul The Mission of Rick Hodes by Marilyn Berger. I think I need more book shelves 🙂

29 07 2011
rebekah

Happy Belated Birthday! I am loving 43 – hope you are too:) You’re 43, right? or did I just strangely extrapolate?

Leave a Reply

