One is Silver, The Other’s Gold

18 11 2011

I was away for three nights and four full days.  From what I can tell, my kids didn’t miss me.  When I got back to my house last night with my mother-in-law in tow my house was the cleanest it has been in weeks!  I am not sure if SAG’s goal was to make me look bad, but he sure did.  And yet, I was very pleased to be humiliated as long as my counters had no junk piled on them, there were vacuum lines in all rooms with carpeting, and the playroom was so organized there were dolls and a cow having a tea party at the kids’ table.

Here are some things I learned:

If these two women ran the world it would be a much better place.  I’ve known the one on the right since we were 11-years-old.  We have been good friends since we were 13.  I didn’t meet the one on the left until I was 14, exactly 30 years ago.  They are so different – from each other – from me – from anyone else I know.  I want to be more like both of them for a hundred different reasons.  They are my friends.  They are my sisters.

This man was an amazing American, and very deserving of his place on the National Mall.  (Okay, that is not the part I learned – I already knew that.)  You could write a very interesting PhD dissertation by tracking race, religion, economic means and nationality of the different people who visit the different monuments.

Dr. Martin Luther King said many inspiring things.  It would have been a very difficult and super cool job to be the person who waded through his speeches to find the best sound-bites to surround his new monument.

Speaking of quotes, the FDR monument is awesome both esthetically and because of what is written on the walls.  I loved it when I saw it for the first time two years ago.  I appreciated it so much more this time.  The quotes, oh my, the quotes – these are the words our leaders elected officials need to study.

A city with true diversity is amazing, inspiring, awesome, damn I can not come up with any new and appropriate adjectives really hip.  We ate Ethiopian, Cuban, Indian, ecclectic-yum, McDonald’s and Dunkin Donuts (hey, my skinny pregnant friend was craving donuts who am I to say “no”?)

When I went to this McDonald’s to get my morning Diet Coke, I thought that the drive thru was broken.  When I went to a different McDonald’s the next day I saw that, in fact, some marketing genius decided that those of us who frequent McDonald’s are hoping for a more personal experience.  So now some poor schlepp has to stand outside and take our orders face-to-face.  Are you kidding me????

I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised.  After all I was in Washington D.C. – the world headquarters of research and smart concepts being turned into incredibly stupid implementations.

The woman behind the scarf is a blogger whom I have admired for a long time.  You probably have too.  She blogs anonymously hence the scarf – we really are not making fun of any particular religion, or fashion statement.

I got to celebrate her birthday with her.  She had just come from hanging out with Melissa Faye Greene.  We almost didn’t get to spend time together because she had to take a road trip to drive Jane Kurtz somewhere!  Yes, I was touched by the Ethiopian Adoption Community royalty, second-hand, but still, I was touched.

I don’t know how I know this song, maybe Camp, maybe Girl Scouts, I don’t know.  But after my fabulous weekend with two old friends, and a terrific lunch in which we were joined by two new friends… well, I can’t get it out of my head.

“Make new friends, but keep the old.  One is silver, the other’s gold.”

Yup, I feel rich.

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 11 2011
Tesi

love it

18 11 2011
Sam's Mom

Ummm, you do realize you posted a full picture of Ms. Annonymous, right?
So glad you had a lovely all-adult time. (wait, that sounded dirty, but you knew what I meant…)

18 11 2011
Semi-Feral Mama

Ms. Anonymous was okay with the post since there were no other identifying factors.

22 11 2011
il panettiere...i

The fact that you put that damn girl scout song in my head for the rest of the day is enough of a reason to type out the word: ACCKK!

On another note, I’m so glad you did what you did. I want to go to DC and have same experiences. Except maybe for the McDonald’s one. That would just make me uncomfortable.

4 01 2012
Bridget

Love this… Sorry, just catching up on all these posts….finally added you to my blogroll so that I can be lazy and find you whenever I need to. I’m sooooo damn lazy. It’s about time.

Leave a Reply

