And The (Liebster) Award Goes To…

26 02 2012

I bet that is one of the most over used blog titles ever.  And I’m not really into movies.  And I am not sure I actually won something but here goes…

My friend, Mel, who was in my first Adoptive Parent training class, has an awesome – if often under used – ahmmm – (although she seems to be writing a little more lately) blog Love Is Aquatic.  This woman has o-pin-ions.  And she has the education, knowledge, life-experience and chutzpah to back them up.

Anyhow, she put me on her Liebster Blog list.  This gives me an opportunity to send some love right back at her and to also pass the love around to five more bloggers.  And really, to pass the love on to YOU.  Because I hope I am introducing YOU to some blogs you have never seen or haven’t checked out in awhile.

The Liebster Blog Award is for blogs that have less than 200 followers so that others can help spread the word about the blogs that they enjoy.

Now I am not exactly sure how to know how many followers any particular blog has.  Some have follower lists, some don’t.  In comparing notes with a friend, we found that her blog seems to get less comments than mine, but has about four times the regular readers. So, as per usual, I will play by the Liebster Rules while adjusting them to fit my whims and minimizing any amount of research I might have to do.
The rules for this simple award are:

1. Show your appreciation to the blogger who nominated you by linking back to their blog.

2. Nominate five other blogs (200 followers or less) by posting a comment on their blogs.

3. Post the award on your blog.

4. Check out what the other up-and-coming blogs have to offer.

So, here are my nominees:

What Now?  This blog is about a family who just completed the adoption of a 15-yr-old (now 18) who spent the vast majority of his life in the US foster care system.  I do not know this blogger in real life but I hope she is a novelist and screen-writer.  This amazing story needs to be experienced by the masses.

God Will Add This blog is written by my friend, the Captain.  If you want to learn a little about tempting fate (faith?) read about how she named her blog God Will Add when she was adopting one infant from Ethiopia.  She just arrived home this week (two years later) with that little boys’ older biological brother.  Yep – God Will Add – I keep telling her it is time to change the name of her blog.

Adopted.  Life Without A Geneology  This blog has only been in existence for a few weeks.  Its author is … drum roll please…. a teenage, trans-racially adopted girl born in Thailand and living in Canada.  And she is a good writer.  And she is funny.  And I am grateful for her real-time perspective.  Go there now.

Like The Love  This blog is new on my horizon and I am so happy to be following their story as they prepare to bring home siblings from Ethiopia.

The Ways Of A River  I have been following this blogger throughout my entire adoption journey and am proud to now call her a friend – even if we have never actually met.  Her blog has moved a few times and you may be happy when you go here and re-discover her beautiful style.  PLUS, her family’s adoption journey just took an emotional and exciting turn which I am sure she will write about in an inspiring fashion.

Picking five blogs to love is a challenge.  In addition to choosing blogs that I believe have a slightly smaller following tight-knit, group of dedicated readers, I also picked blogs that currently have an exciting narrative due to the course of something that is happening in the bloggers’ world.  There are lots of other great blogs I follow listed on my right side-bar and almost all of them could have made this list (except a few that are just too popular.)

PS  If you want to learn more about the Liebster Blog Award – well, good luck.  It doesn’t seem to have a clear origin – or homepage even.  But if you do Google it, you will uncover many, many, many small blogs that you haven’t seen before.  And they are not all adoption.

I think I could go down the Liebster Blog rabbit hole and be gone for many, many days (just found some inspiring looking vegan recipes.)

Actions

Information

6 responses

26 02 2012
Captain Murdock

ahhh shucks! thanks friend! I don’t have to make a speech now though, right?

26 02 2012
Crack You Whip

Congrats! All great blog choices, thanks for the recommendations!

27 02 2012
Tesi

great ones!

Bigger question, where did you find those vegan recipes?!?!?!?!? 🙂

27 02 2012
Semi-Feral Mama

I wil retrace my steps during nap time and let you know.

27 02 2012
Kim

First of all, I’d like to thank my parents for giving birth to me and supporting me throughout the ups and downs of my tumultuous teenage years. Next, my agent….

Okay, just kidding. But in all seriousness, thanks!

27 02 2012
Melanie

Opinions? Me? I’ve never heard that before.

Leave a Reply

