Pin This, Baby

18 03 2012

I am not much of a cook.

If you invite me to a pot luck you can expect either a great salad or vegetarian chili.

Apparently the exception to this rule is St. Patrick’s Day.  Just the thought of what I could do with green food coloring had my head spinning.  In the end I brought a toddler-with-allergies-friendly “appetizer”, a main course and a desert.

What, you say it isn’t appetizing?

The Pirate’s B00ty didn’t even require additional food coloring.

The kids helped me make the R1ce Cr1spie Treats.

The twice-baked potatoes are from “Sundays at Moosewood” – the best vegetarian cookbook ever written.

I consider it a Pot-Luck hat-trick.

It helped that the weather was beautiful.

The company was delightful.

And, EVERYONE is Irish on St. Patrick’s Day.

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 03 2012
The Lost Planetista

Sundays at Moosewood rules. So many of the mainstays of what we eat are from that cookbook. I also love their book of Deserts

The twice baked potatoes with green stuff coming out made me wince though, to be honest. 🙂

18 03 2012
Semi-Feral Mama

It is a great, tasty recipe. The food coloring just meant more left-overs for us to bring home!

18 03 2012
Wendy

I am SO digging your potatoes!

And thanks for your kind words on my blog post today!

20 03 2012
Melanie

Love Moosewood cookbooks. I’ve had their low fat one forever. And, yes, I’m a little squeamish about those green potatoes. However, having worked at an Irish pub for several years, I loath St. Patrick’s Day with the fire of a 1,000 red hot suns.

Leave a Reply

