Let’s Celebrate

2 04 2012

Little Dude turns THREE this week.

At five months old, his referral picture

Since his favorite video to watch on my phone is when we sang Happy Birthday to him last year, we are taking the opportunity to sing to him, often.  And he will be getting a few gifts from his grandparents and us.  But really, he needs NOTHING.  In fact, he needs less than nothing.  He needs someone to come to our house and take away about 50% of the toys, 30% of his clothes and 25% of the books.  Maybe if we weren’t drowning in “stuff,” things would stay more organized.

On the other hand, he needs to know he is loved.  And, I want him to know that his birth, his life, his story, matters.  I want him to know that his family and friends love him as a happy-go-lucky three-year-old and as a human being with a unique story.

So I am asking you to consider acknowledging his birth by making a gift that will benefit kids in Ethiopia.

Since it is his third birthday, I am going to make three suggestions as to ways you could make a small gift and know it will really matter.  Click on the link at the top of any section to learn more.

.

.

FOVC – Tamara – Shopping Opportunity

Friends of Orphans and Vulnerable Children is an organization working in southern Ethiopia, about 60 kilometers from where Little Dude was born.  My friend Tamara is an agriculture expert using her knowledge to help the people of Wolita develop more sustainable agriculture practices.  Her husband is a veterinarian. He will travel with her on their next trip to Ethiopia to further educate a local Ethiopian man that he hand-picked to train in animal husbandry.  You can support their next trip, the organization as a whole, or you can buy a beautiful necklace or cool basket -so many great options. (And hey, someone you know is turning 45 this July… she might like a necklace… just saying.)

.

.

Something Good Quilt Raffle or check it out on FaceBook

My friend, C, made an amazing quilt while she waited to be matched with her future daughter.  Surprise, she was matched with a son.  I think the quilt she made is gender neutral (in a beautiful way) but her heart tells her that it needs to do other work besides comforting her boy.  She is raffling it to raise money which she will then use to buy specific, needed supplies for care centers in Ethiopia, when she is there.  This makes SO MUCH SENSE.  We all drag donations to Ethiopia – great, important, necessary.  And the airlines all get their extra baggage fees.  But ultimately I think it is great to purchase supplies in Ethiopia – a robust economy is what that poor nation needs more than anything.  Plus, she can buy perishable items like medicine and formula and whatever the care centers say they need most THAT DAY.

.

.

Tesfa Foundation 5×3

This organization is putting the finishing touches on a school they built in Kololo.  (You may not know where Kololo is, but I thought I would give you the opportunity to say Kololo.  Kololo – admit it, it is fun to say.)  For a great read, check out the blog written by Cien who is working on that school.

Tesfa is dedicated to building five more schools in the area.  One of these schools may be in the exact village where Little Dude was born.  It is a safe bet that Little Dude’s parents did not have an opportunity to go to school.  When I think what this could mean for Little Dude’s family, I cry.  Really.  Me.

Also, a head’s up to my Iowa friends, there is a fundraiser in Iowa this month for this project.  More info is available at the link.

.

.

Little Dude’s birthday is on Friday.  I think we can raise $333 in the next six days.  (I actually hope we can do much better than that.)

I will match up to the first $150.  Wherever you put your money, I will put my money.

You just have to write a comment telling me who you gave to and how much.  And, yes, I know the comment situation is a little jacked-up right now.  You might have to try using a different email address.  Or, you can send me a private email if you wish semiferalmama at yahoo dot com

I hope between your gifts and my match we will be at, at least, $483 by Friday at midnight.

Actions

Information

13 responses

2 04 2012
Motherparadox

Thanks, SFM! You are the greatest!

2 04 2012
tamara b

ditto. Happy birthday my little buddy.

2 04 2012
tamara b

PS thanks SMF for the heads up on the fundraiser. I emailed Liz about it.

2 04 2012
jcmarie

You are awesome.

3 04 2012
Motherparadox

We got some weird check in the mail yesterday for some litigation with my husband’s insurance company. So I have some found money, just a little, but I want to celebrate LD’s birthday just right. So I am giving twenty dollars to all three! Match that, sister! And my raffle tickets, I am giving them to LD and his madly cute sister. Thank you again, friend!

3 04 2012
claudia

I just bought five raffle tickets… you owe me a $20 match, my friend 🙂

Oh, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY to little dude! I find it truly amazing just HOW much the same he looks as when he was a tiny baby. I wonder if he’ll look exactly the same when he’s eighty…

3 04 2012
Jamie

Not sure how he can possibly be 3 already… He still has the best smile.

4 04 2012
Captain Murdock

Happy birthday Little Dude. Instead of $30 worth of plastic (which I know your mom hates), I donated that amount to th B’s serving my favorite part of Ethiopia!

4 04 2012
Captain Murdock

P.s., after my donation, a charity project’s website is only $25 away from breaking $100,000. That’s pretty exciting!

4 04 2012
Semi-Feral Mama

You and Travis should be so proud.

4 04 2012
The Lost Planetista

I bought 2 raffle tickets for the quilt- $10. You rock, Semi-feral.

4 04 2012
Maria

Happy Birthday Little Dude! Wonderful idea in honor of his birthday. I donated $50 to FOVC and the B’s trip.

9 04 2012
Shiloh

I know you are over your match, and yay for that, but I tossed $10 Tamara’s way also. Little Dude bought a package of seeds for Shanto! And A Charity Project was over $100, 000 when I went there. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

