730 Days

26 04 2012

730 days ago I drank this disgusting beer

on a flight from Chicago, Illinois, USA to Istanbul, Turkey – on route to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Last year, I published my journal word-for-word from that trip.  The trip during which I finally met my son face-to-face and was allowed to bring him back to America with me.  The trip that started five days prior in Oregon, and would end almost two weeks later in Missouri.

In the blink of an eye my life changed….  first visit to one of the poorest nations in the world,  first time holding my son, returning to our new “home” in a state that I previously mocked.

In the blink of an eye his life changed…. first, well, pretty much EVERYTHING.  Except – not his first mother, not his first family, not his first language, not his first home.

This kid,

who is more adaptable than any human being should have to be.

This kid

who rarely slows down.

This kid

who has his own ideas.

This kid

who is stronger than he should be.

This kid

who completed our family.

You can find the entire journal, plus a few supplementary posts about the journal on the far right of the menu at the top of my blog.

Or, you can click here – it takes you to the same place – imagine that.

PLEASE if you are going to read it – read THIS POST FIRST – as it explains my state-of-mind and hopefully excuses my poor writing, and bizarro style.

Actions

Information

One response

27 04 2012
stickymangofeet

Love this.

Leave a Reply

