Glue Not Stitches

10 06 2012

Three Things About This Incident

1)  I went to the gym, left the kids in the child-care room and went upstairs to work out.  I was waiting for my friend to arrive so we could do cardio together.  I decided to fill the time by lifting weights.  As I was lifting, I was fantasizing about the child-care attendant coming upstairs to tell me one of my kids was hurt.  I was wondering if I would sprint across the room and down the stairs, or if I would be casual and calm.

Less than an hour later, the child-care attendant approached me on the stairmaster and said, “PJ is hurt.”  I did not sprint.  In fact, I assured her that PJ was having a very dramatic afternoon and was probably just find.  She assured me that PJ was NOT “just fine.”

Twenty minutes later, after confirming that our pediatrician’s office had just closed, we were sitting in the lobby of Urgent Care.

So, am I psychic?

2)  Our Urgent Care experience was awesome.  They sent a nurse out right away to assess the situation.  I assume this is so you don’t waste your time or their time if, in fact, your body will heal on its own.  The nurse looked and said, “Pretty sure that will need glue but not stitches.”

A few minutes later the doctor came out and confirmed.  Not too long after that, we were ushered into a room where they already had the materials they needed laid out.

And when our insurance card didn’t work for some reason, the receptionist did not become a control freak and demand cash for our services.  She assumed something was wrong with the insurance companies computer because it was after 5:00 pm.  She accepted our co-pay graciously.  I am sure she was confident if she needed to find us she could.

I LOVE efficiency (and professionalism, and good customer service, and people who understand caring for kids.)

3)  Despite being totally calm the whole time, and the fact that I have a super tough kid who also was calm and for the most part not even crying, the whole incident exhausted me.  When the kids finally went to bed a couple of hours later, I drank my first beer of the evening in record time.  And, to be perfectly honest, I opened my second beer before I even finished the first.  I mean, I was up anyway, and as I mentioned above, I love efficiency.

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 06 2012
Kim

Super bummed about #1. Living life with a kiddo who has health issues gives me new understanding for scares like that. #2 makes me smile and nod in appreciation. #3 makes me happy. Not that you had a rough day. No, it’s just nice to know that I’m not the only mom out there who sometimes needs more than one beer at the end of a rough day.

10 06 2012
Tesi

for whatever reason, this post made me just love you even more. 🙂

I am usually very calm but the other day at the baseball game Tomas hit a foul ball and Binyam was laying down. I saw it come up and knew it was going to hit Bini. I shrieked “Bean!” and froze. Tomas cried because I yelled and Binyam cried because I yelled. and I. was. a. dumbass.

All this to say I am proud of you for being level headed.

And glue is better than stitches. I never get so lucky.

11 06 2012
Meg

so glad she’s okay but do we get to hear the story? ie: what caused the slice on her pretty brow?

19 06 2012
Captain Murdock

That is one tough cookie.

And your last comment about beer efficiency … had me in stitches (pun intended).

We need to plan a get together now that school’s out for summer and I’m slightly less crazy than I was two months ago 🙂

19 06 2012
Shonda

p.s. I had to go to greath lengths to comment here, so since I finally figured it out, I might as well make it worth my while and leave another comment …

I used to think WordPress commenting was the best and blogger needed to take a serious lesson. I now take back that opinion. Sorry WordPress – you have let me down.

Leave a Reply

