False Promises

9 07 2012

Last year, we never quite got around to carving our pumpkins.

Then we never quite got around to getting rid of our pumpkins.

For many weeks they sat getting softer and softer on our front porch.

Then someone moved them to our backyard and put them in our pseudo flower garden.

It was not supposed to be their final resting place.  But it was.

As of two weeks ago, we have been in this house a year.  We usually do not do much with the gardens and landscaping in the first year we live in a house.  We just aren’t naturally gifted at recognizing what is an intentionally planted green object, and what is a green object that most Americans consider a weed.  And now that we are in Missouri – well, weeds = poison ivy a fair percentage of the time.

So, for this season, (and the three seasons that proceeded this season), we have frustrated our persnickety neighbors as weeds and the occasional flower have been allowed to run rampant on our property.

A few weeks ago, however, I actually recognized some very large leaves that were growing in our backyard. (Surrounded and inundated with poison ivy — by the way.)

At first I didn’t even mention the plants to my kids.  I was afraid they would be overly interested and the plants would quickly be loved to death.  Also, I was afraid of the plethora of poison ivy.

Finally I was too excited to keep the secret to myself.  Every morning I woke to see giant squash blossoms blooming.

Because of the hands-off policy we mandated for the kids, I was not checking under the leaves to see how things were progressing.

I was super excited wondering if we were growing mini-pumpkins or the much larger pumpkins we also purchased last year.

When I couldn’t take it any longer, I allowed myself to peek under the leaves.  Then I began to discuss what I was NOT seeing with SAG.  Seems he was not seeing the same thing.

Whatever version of pumpkins we are growing, it is all blossom.  Apparently, we won’t be getting any actual fruit.

Every week there is a handful of beautiful new blossoms.  Eventually they die as new ones spring up.  Alas, not a single one has been a precursor to a glorious, round, orange, squash.

Does anyone have any recipes for squash blossoms?

And, is it possible to carve them come October?

Actions

Information

10 responses

9 07 2012
Liz

Maybe all your pumpkins were female? Or there aren’t enough bees in your area? Don’t certain plants need pollination to turn the flowers into fruit? Ignore me if I am making no sense at all…

10 07 2012
Semi-Feral Mama

Liz, we have lots of bees right out there that hang out on the flowers. So I am betting it is more the male/female thing. Whatever the reason, I am disappointed.

9 07 2012
Julie Corby

Steven fries them in butter, filled with cheese. Works for me.

10 07 2012
Meg

There is a mexican restaurant near us that uses a lot of squash blossoms in their dishes, both as food and garnish. She has a spicy pepper & squash blossom burrito that is to die for.

10 07 2012
tesileagh

yeah put them in eggs and fry ’em up. also, there still might be fruit so just wait!

10 07 2012
11 07 2012
Christine

You might still get a pumpkin maybe? All of our squash and pumpkin plants have always put on lots of flowers first and then fruit later. My zucchini have been flowering for a few weeks, no fruit yet though.

11 07 2012
Semi-Feral Mama

Christine, We are hoping. But we live pretty far south, I would think it would have happened by now. In Oregon I always got a pumpkin for every blossom.

11 07 2012
Captain Murdock

Semi – I tried to comment about this yesterday but I see it didn’t go through. I was going to say the same as Christine. My pumpkin and other squash plants flowered for quite a bit before actually producing fruit. I too have tons of blossoms on my pumpkin (which I planted a couple of months ago) but no fruit yet. Don’t pull it up yet – I bet you’ll have pumpkins by fall.

27 07 2012
Lauren

Take out the stamens and any stowaway bugs, wash, dip in egg and then (optionally herbed) flour and shallow fry. Stuffing with ricotta/parmesan and herbs is also good, but I never seem to get the warmed-through-but-not-burnt heat/time ratio right. Maybe try a little finely chopped jalepenos in the stuffing too? Or bacon?

Leave a Reply

