Need You To Read – Can’t Think Of Important Title

12 10 2012

Last month, I was lucky enough to accidentally meet another adoptive mother.  She also happens to be a professor at University of Missouri and specializes in researching adoption.

The day after we met I sent her an email with a whole list of things I thought she needed to study.  She immediately blocked me from ever sending her another email.  She actually was really nice about.  She said she had a graduate student working with her this term who might want to interview me for a research project she is working on  (not one that I suggested, but hey).

Cool, right?

Well, guess what?  She needs to interview about 20 transracial/transcultural families formed through adoption

I told her I had at least 20 friends who would be interested in working on this.

It only requires a 30-45 minute phone interview during which she only needs to speak with one of the parents in the family.  She is hoping to conduct the interviews in the next couple of weeks.

Now, here is the part where I play scientist….  I think, and Leslie (the woman conducting the research) agreed, that the study would be best if it represented lots of different types of families.  For example, let’s try and find her families that adopted infants. Let’s try and find her families that only adopted older children.  Let’s try and find her families that adopted domestically.  Let’s try and find her families that adopted from EVERY country.  Let’s try and find her families that adopted through foster care.  Let’s try and find her families whose adoption was at least in part motivated by fertility issues.  Let’s find her families whose adoption was not motivated by fertility issues.  Let’s try and find her single parents that have adopted.  Let’s try and find her adoptive families formed years ago, and others that have just formed recently.

I think you probably got my point by now.

And, I think, most importantly, and probably the most tricky, we need to find her families who are NOT super involved in online communities or other AP related activities.  Because only then will she have a valid sampling of adoptive families.  Which means you may need to personally ask friends of yours.

Because I want to make sure I am as popular and influential as I think that I keep my promise to her, I am hoping that if you plan to contact Leslie and volunteer to participate, you will either post a comment or send me an email at semiferalmama@yahoo.com .  As many people as want to participate should contact Leslie, I am sure she will be thrilled to have too many volunteers.

This might be a rare opportunity to make adoption better understood, or to help members of the triad in the future, or just to go on and on about your wonderful parenting skills.  Whatever it turns out to be, I don’t think you will regret participating.

Below is the email Leslie sent to me with her contact information.

Please feel free to contact her by email or by phone directly.

And please let her know you heard about the research through me.

Thanks.

My name is Leslie Nelson and I am a Master’s student in the Department of Communication here at the University of Missouri. I got your contact information from Dr. Colleen Colaner, who is my advisor and support for a research study I am embarking on for this semester! I am conducting a study that examines communication in adoptive families in which the child is of a differing ethnicity or cultural background. Specifically, I am interested in if and how the child’s ethnic identity or cultural background becomes a part of adoptive families’ overarching family identity (from the parent’s perspective). With this, I was wondering if you know of any adoptive parents who may be interested in getting interviewed? If so, feel free to pass on my contact information (listed below)! I would greatly appreciate any and all help!
Thank you so much in advance!
-Leslie Nelson
402-676-1988

I included this picture just in case you have forgotten how cute my kids are.

Actions

Information

12 responses

12 10 2012
Meg

count us in as 3 year family via infant Ethiopian adoption with new (bio) on the way. that should check a few boxes on her list.

12 10 2012
Semi-Feral Mama

This just made me laugh out loud. You are either woefully naive about what is going to happen when Mimi actually arrives (any day)… or you are hoping by scheduling an interview you can force Mimi to come out and interrupt your plans in which case I say… smart thinking.

13 10 2012
Casa Bicicleta

I normally would agree to participate but we are woefully normal and run of the mill. But good for you for reaching out!

13 10 2012
Semi-Feral Mama

She is looking for 20 families… I didn’t mean to scare off the “woefully normal and run of the mill.” What I gathered from the synopsis is she is studying the communication within the family and how it is altered by the trans-racial adoption. Am guessing neither DS1 or DS2 went to Chinese School like BG does. I think that is the kind of thing that needs to be represented in this study. But I am only guessing. I hope you will contact her.

14 10 2012
Molly

That’s awesome! i’m probably doing my dissertation on adoption and attachment, so I may or may not hit you up to discuss that at some point!

15 10 2012
Semi-Feral Mama

Molly, If you ever want to dig into a huge variety of thoughts about attachment written by the women in the trenches you must check out the linky Claudia at My Fascinating Life did a while back. There are 47 posts written by APs. I think this link might take you there. http://my–fascinating–life.blogspot.com/2011/02/lets-talk-about-attachment.html

18 10 2012
Molly

Thanks!! I’m off to read now! I need to suss out what research has been done and what still needs to be looked at

16 10 2012
Scooping it up

Molly, I am always up for a good attachment interview. Just as long as you don’t mind if it starts feeling like you are my therapist. Just wrote a tiny piece on attaching in older child adoption. http://scoopingitup.blogspot.com/2012/10/without-you.html?m=1

18 10 2012
Molly

Thanks!!! Psssh, I wouldn’t mind a bit! I’m still a ways away from doing my own research (a year or two?) but I will let you know when it’s go time!!!

16 10 2012
Scooping it up

I emailed her. Three homegrown, three Ethiopian, infant and older child adoption. And I am Mormon. That should check a diversity box or two.

16 10 2012
Semi-Feral Mama

Thanks, Scoop. I hope it is well worth your valuable time. Maybe you should let her know that sometime after 1am is usually just fine with you.

18 10 2012
Tesi

Let me know if she still needs people. I’m clearly a little late to the ball game. Classic hotflawedmama

Leave a Reply

