Personal Invitation

16 10 2012

Dear Friend,

I am having luck getting people to participate in the communication/adoption research that I blogged about here when I ask them personally.  However, as far as I can tell, YOU haven’t decided that you want to participate.

So, consider this YOUR personal appeal.

Did I scare YOU off when I said we needed to find a wide variety of families?  Sorry.  If YOU don’t participate, I won’t actually have a wide variety.

If you have particular reservations, maybe you could send Leslie an email and ask her any questions you have.  I did have one person ask me about the anonymity of the research.  That is a great question.  I have to say, I just assumed it would be anonymous as I feel confident that this researcher understands APs desires to protect their families privacy.  But that would be a very legitimate thing to establish with Leslie before agreeing to the interview.

As for me, my interview is Friday and I am really looking forward to it.  She says it will take between 30 minutes and 45 minutes.  Who wants to bet I go on and on for at least an hour?  You are right, when you say 2 hours, HOWEVER, I scheduled the time so I HAVE to go pick the kids up at pre-school.

I am going to re-paste Leslie’s original email below.  If you decide you want to participate, just give her a call or send her an email.  All her contact info is included.

Thanks,

SFM

My name is Leslie Nelson and I am a Master’s student in the Department of Communication here at the University of Missouri. I got your contact information from Dr. Colleen Colaner, who is my advisor and support for a research study I am embarking on for this semester! I am conducting a study that examines communication in adoptive families in which the child is of a differing ethnicity or cultural background. Specifically, I am interested in if and how the child’s ethnic identity or cultural background becomes a part of adoptive families’ overarching family identity (from the parent’s perspective). With this, I was wondering if you know of any adoptive parents who may be interested in getting interviewed? If so, feel free to pass on my contact information (listed below)! I would greatly appreciate any and all help!

Thank you so much in advance!

-Leslie Nelson
lrnm9c@mail.missouri.edu
402-676-1988

Actions

Information

One response

18 10 2012
Tesi

Just emailed her.

Leave a Reply

